Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal of SAD party has won the current elections and is the new MLA of Batala. He has won the elections with a margin of 485 votes and Ashwani Sekhri of Congress is the trailing candidate. Batala constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 7. Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal, who belongs to SAD, is the current MLA of Batala and he became MLA by winning the current elections held in 2017.